Samad Rabiu Africa Initiative grants 22 Nigerian tertiary institutions N5.5bn infrastructure devt grants

Sharing is caring!

The Abdul Samad Rabiu Africa Initiative (ASR Africa) on Thursday, announced a N5.5billion grant to 22 universities and institutions of higher learning across Nigeria.

Each of the institutions is to get N250million each towards infrastructure projects under its ASR Africa Tertiary Education Grants Scheme (TEGS).

This will bring to 30, the number of tertiary education institutions benefitting from various ASR Africa education interventions in Nigeria.

Prior to this announcement, about eight universities had benefitted from the ASR Africa TEGS Scheme – with some of the projects nearing completion.

Abdul Samad Rabiu, Chairman of ASR Africa and BUA Group, said: “At ASR Africa, we believe in Africa’s capacity to leapfrog the development divide through the SDGs. Good, quality investments in education is one of the ways through which we can achieve that. This is why education remains one of the three focal areas for ASR Africa’s interventions in Nigeria, and Africa and our investments in infrastructure for tertiary institutions are showing good promise.”

Announcing the selected institutions, Ubon Udoh, Managing Director of ASR Africa said that the 22 beneficiaries were chosen across Nigeria, based on carefully selected criteria.

Udoh said: “The next phase under our grants framework would be project selection and development of mutual accountability frameworks with respective universities. We expect this phase to commence in the coming weeks.”

The selected institutions which include federal, state, and privately owned universities are Bayero University, Kano; Adamawa State University; Federal University of Technology, Owerri; Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun, Delta State; Nigerian Law School (Lagos); University of Uyo; University of Lagos; University of Jos; Federal College of Education Technology, Gusau; and Federal University, Lokoja.

Others are Nasarawa State University; University of Port Harcourt; Federal University of Technology, Minna; Uthman Dan Fodio University; Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike; Crescent University; Babcock University; Al-Qalam University; Baze University; Nigerian Defence Academy; Federal University, Gashua, and the National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies, Kuru.

Related Articles

Back to top button