APC picks Akpabio, Tajudeen as consensus Senate President, Speaker

The All Progressives Congress (APC) National Working Committee (NWC) has announced the zoning arrangement for the leadership positions in the 10th National Assembly.

In a statement issued on Monday by the party’s National Publicity Secretary, Felix Mouka, the NWC revealed the outcome of consultations and meetings held with the President-elect, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, other party leaders and stakeholders.

The statement reads: The zoning arrangement for the Senate is as follows:

  • Senate President – South South – Senator Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom).
  • Deputy Senate President – North West – Senator Barau Jubrin (Kano).

For the House of Representatives, the zoning arrangement is as follows:

  • Speaker, House of Representatives – North West – Hon. Abass Tajudeen (Kaduna).
  • Deputy Speaker – South East – Hon. Ben Kalu (Abia).

The NWC noted the outcome of the meetings held between the President-Elect and the leadership of the NWC and called for further consultations with necessary stakeholders to ensure the support of the aspirants to the National Assembly leadership positions and members of the party nationwide.

The APC urged party leaders, members and Nigerians to continue to work towards the peace and progress of the country during and beyond the current period of leadership transition.

Back to top button