APC retains majority in Senate with 49 seats

Sharing is caring!

With the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declaring the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) winner of Saturday’s presidential election, the ruling party has also retained its dominance in the senate.

Going by the results of the National Assembly elections declared so far, which also held on Saturday, APC has secured 49 seats.

Results of 89 seats have been declared. The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won 28; Labour Party (6) while New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) and Social Democratic Party (SDP) secured two seats each.

The Young Progressive Party (YPP) and All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) have so far produced one senator each. There are 109 seats in the Red Chamber, made up of three seats per state and one for FCT.

Meanwhile, last Saturday’s parliamentary poll has continued to throw there were shocks and upsets as more serving governors were defeated in the National Assembly election.

Governors Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia), Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi), Darius Ishaku (Taraba), Samuel Ortom (Benue), Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu), Simon Lalong (Plateau) and Ben Ayade (Cross River) lost their bids to represent their senatorial districts.

Only two governors, Abubakar Sani Bello (Niger) and Dave Umahi (Ebonyi) won.

The result of the Sokoto South senatorial election, which Governor Aminu Tambuwal contested, was declared inconclusive over irregularities, including over-voting.

Senator Muhammad Adamu Aliero Aliero floored Bagudu in Kebbi Central

The returning officer, Professor Abbas Yusuf, said Senator Aliero of PDP polled 126,588 votes to defeat Governor Bagudu in the election.

He said Bagudu, who is also Chairman Progressive Governors Forum, scored 92,389 votes.

Related Articles

Back to top button