Attacks on INEC staff: Prof. Yakubu raises concern as he meets political leaders in Edo

The Chairman of the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, met with leaders of political parties at the state head office in Benin, Edo State on Friday.

Prof. Yakubu gave the political parties credit for their actions during the election season but expressed concern about a recent incident in which criminals attacked INEC employees during the CVR exercise, highlighting the necessity to ensure the security and safety of election procedures.

He emphasized that the people of Edo State alone have the authority to choose their leaders and that it is imperative to safeguard their decision-making. 

Prof. Yakubu however, reiterated INEC’s commitment to preserving democracy and urged harmony between the parties who had been wronged.

He decried the high number of Permanent Voter Cards (PVCs) that remain unclaimed in the state and asked political parties to organize voters to pick up their PVCs.  

The INEC Chairman visited with the Commission’s employees in Edo State on Thursday, praising their perseverance and fortitude in the face of recent flooding that seriously destroyed the state headquarters. 

Prof. Yakubu assured the people of Edo State that the Continuous Voter Registration (CVR) process is running smoothly and on schedule for the upcoming gubernatorial election.  

The Resident Electoral Commissioner, Dr Anugbum Onuoha commended the quick actions to handle the flooding, including moving the registration center to Ikpoba Okha to ensure that voter registration continues.  Notwithstanding the obstacles, Dr. Onuoha reiterated the dedication of the Edo State personnel to holding a successful and credible poll.

National Commissioners accompanying the Chairman included Prof. Rhodes Gumus, Maj Gen Modibo Alkali, Sam Olumekun, and Mrs. May Agbamuche-Mbu. Also part of the Chairman’s team was Chief Technical Adviser to the Hon. Chairman, Prof. Bolade Eyinla, Chief Press Secretary to the Hon. Chairman, Rotimi Oyekanmi, Director of ICT, Engr. Bayode Lawrence, Director of Voter Registration (VR), Mr. Tunde Gafar, and other staff from the National Headquarters.

Back to top button