Be humble to listen and learn, Sanwo-Olu tells commissioners, SA’s Lagos State

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu on Wednesday swore in 37 commissioners and Special Advisers to help run the affairs of state in the next four years. The swearing in was held at the Adeyemi Bero auditorium in Alausa, Ikeja. Governor Sanwo-Olu urged the new commissioners and SA’s to build on the successes recorded in the administration’s first term. He challenged them to be humble enough to listen and learn, consult widely and take the people closer to the dream of a greater Lagos. He said: “To the new members of the Executive Council, the spirit of cooperation and collaboration with the House of Assembly is one that you must continue to build on. The people of Lagos State demand and expect the best. Achieving this requires every one of you to reach out, to engage and to collaborate. It requires you to have the humility to listen and to learn; the humility to consult widely and to consider wellmeaning advice; and the humility to recognise that we all win or lose together. I demand and expect no less from you all. “The task of this new cabinet is clear. It is to build on the successes of our administration’s first four years in office. It is to take our people closer and closer to our dream of a Greater Lagos. As fate will have it, we are also marking the First 100 Days of our administration’s second term in office. So today is as good a time as any to review the past, and to set our sights on the glorious future ahead of us. “The expectations of our people have never been higher than they are right now. Doing your best to meet them is therefore not an option. It is the least you will be expected to do. Lagos is the Centre of Excellence; your work must be excellent in every ramification. “Working together, carrying the people along, keeping your feet on the ground, and ensuring that every decision you take has the best interest of our people at the heart of it, are the surest ways to succeed. May God guide you in the effective discharge of your onerous responsibilities. “Our first term governance agenda, appropriately termed T.H.E.M.E.S, delivered much. Despite the headwinds from COVID-19 and the EndSARS crisis, both of which we weathered with acknowledged acclaim, we pursued and delivered enduring developmental legacies for our people. The achievements in our First Term owed a lot to the quality and calibre of the men and women in that cabinet. They worked relentlessly and assiduously, and Lagos State is the better for it. I am grateful to them for their sterling efforts in the service of our people. Happily, some members of that team are part of the new one, thus ensuring a measure of continuity in our government. “Beyond the broad T.H.E.M.E.S+ agenda, our second term will be focused on building and completing enduring legacy projects in transportation, health and agriculture that will open up more economic and developmental opportunities for our people. The commissioners are Lawal Pedro (Attorney-General/Commissioner for Justice); Prof. Akin Abayomi (Health); Tokunbo Wahab (Environment); Moruf Akinderu-Fatai (Housing); Gbenga Omotoso (Information and Strategy); Ibrahim Layode (Home Affairs and Culture); Mrs. Cecilia Dada (Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation); Ms. Abisola Olusanya (Agriculture); Oluyomi Abayomi (Finance); Afolabi Ayantayo (Establishment, Training and Pension); Olugbenga Oyerinde (Special Duties); Mrs. Adetoke Benson-Awoyinka (Tourism) and Mobolaji Ogunlende (Youth and Social Development). Others are Yakub Alebiosu (Waterfront Infrastructure); Mosopefoluwa George (Economic Planning and Budget); Olatunbosun Alake (Innovation, Science and Technology); Kayode Roberts (Local Government Affairs); Jamiu Alli-Balogun (Basic Education); Oluwaseun Osiyemi (Transport); Folashade Ambrose-Medebem (Commerce, Trade and Investment); Olumide Oluyinka (Physical and Urban Planning); Bankole Akinyemi (Wealth Creation) and Tolani Sule-Akibu (Tertiary Education). The Special Advisers are Rotimi Fashola (Agriculture); Sola Giwa (Transport); Moshood Olowu (Commerce, Trade and Investment); Lukmon Adeyinka (Works); Mrs. Oreoluwa Finnih-Awokoya (Health); Mrs. Iyabo Ayoola Oyeyemi (Central Internal Audit); Babatunde Olajide (EGIS and Urban Planning); Rotimi Akodu (Environment); Abdul-Kadir Ogungbo (Taxation and Revenue); Idris Aregbe (Tourism); Mrs. Bola Olumegbon-Lawal (Central Business District); Mrs. Barakat Bakare (Housing); Tajudeen Afolabi (Political Education and Engagement) and Nurudeen Yekini-Agbaje (Rural Development and Chieftaincy Affairs). Omotoso, who gave the vote of assurance on behalf of his colleagues, said: “We thank Governor Sanwo-Olu and deputy governor Obafemi Hamzat, Speaker of the House and the lawmakers for this great opportunity of honour. It is not just a day of gratitude, but also a day of commitment to working as a team that will help Mr Governor and Mr Deputy Governor to fasten governance towards a Greater Lagos. Our dear Lagos will continue to be the prime. “The oath of office we’ve all taken is truly symbolic of our willingness to embrace everything that will be in the best interest of our dear Lagos, lagosians as well as our great party, the APC. I am sure we will not disappoint you. Once again we are grateful.” Present at the swearing in were the governor’s wife Mrs. Ibijoke Sanwo-Olu, Deputy Governor Obafemi Hamzat, his wife Oluremi, Speaker of the House of Assembly Mudashiru Obasa, husband of the Ogun State Deputy Governor Alhaji Bode Oyedele, Secretary to the State Government Mrs. Bimbola Salu-Hundeyin, Senators Idiat Adebule (Lagos West) and Wasiu Sanni-Eshinlokun (Lagos Central), members of the House of Representatives, members of the House of Assembly, and state Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Cornelius Ojelabi. Others were Minister of Mines and Steel Development Dele Alake, traditional rulers, spiritual leaders, members of the Governance Advisory Council (GAC), among others.

Back to top button