BREAKING: Again, Lagos Assembly rejects 3 Sanwo-Olu’s Commissioner nominees, confirms 15

The Lagos state House of Assembly, on Thursday again during planery session rejected three out of the eighteen commissioner nominees resent to the House by governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu for confirmation.

Those rejected were Engr. Olalere Odusote ( Former Commissioner for Energy), Sam Egube ( Former Commissioner for Budget) and Hon. Tolani Sule Akibu.

Meanwhile, the Clerk of the House, Barr. Olalekan Onafeko, had on Monday conveyed the request of the governor to the House through a letter he read on the floor of the House during plenary session.

Consequent to this, Speaker Mudashiru Obasa constituted a 12-member committee led by the Chief Whip of the House, Hon. Fatai Mojeed to screen the nominees, the report of which was presented report to the House during the plenary session on Thursday.

Addressing the House after the receipt of the report of the committee, Obasa inquired, “After the sitting of the ad-hoc committee, if there is any lawmaker that needs clarification or is aggrieved about this report such person should come out to state his case. We will continue with the confirmation of the nominees, In line with the constitution, I hereby confirm the nominee of the name of the nominees.”

The Speaker thereafter led the House in a voice vote to confirm the nominees during which 3 nominees were rejected while 15 confirmed.

The  names of nominees confirmed by the House are Afolabi Abiodun Tajudeen, Oluwaseun Oriyomi, Prof Akin Abayomi, Folashade Kaosarat, Akinyemi Bankole, Cecilia Dada, Barakat Akande, Gbenga Omotosho, Mosopefolu George, Dr Agbaje, Dr Olumide Oluyinka, Samson Oluyomi, Dr Iyabode Ayoola, Sola Shakirudeen Giwa, and Rotimi Fashola.

Back to top button