INEC suspends ongoing rerun elections in Kano, Enugu, Akwa Ibom constituencies

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced the suspension of ongoing rerun elections in specific constituencies in Akwa Ibom, Kano and Enugu states.

In a statement on Saturday, national commissioner and chairman, information and voter education committee, Sam Olumekun  said the suspension was due to disruptions, irregularities and abduction of election officials.

“The affected areas are as follows: Ikono/Ini Federal Constituency, Akwa Ibom State. Suspension of elections in two Polling Units (Village Hall, EdemUrua 003 in Ini LGA and Village Hall Mbiabong Ikot Udo 003 in Ikono LGA) where all election materials were carted away by hoodlums,” he said.

“Enugu South 1 State Constituency, Enugu State: Suspension of elections in all eight Polling Units where the original results sheets were not available for inspection by voters before the commencement of polls.

“Kunchi/Tsanyawa State Constituency, Kano State: Suspension of elections in all ten Polling Units in Kunchi LGA due to invasion, vandalization, and disruption by thugs.”

INEC had earlier announced that it was monitoring reports of hijacking and thuggery in some parts of the three states.

Olumekun said the decision to suspend the polls aligns with the provisions of section 24(3) of the Electoral Act 2022.

“Further necessary measures for the affected constituencies will be announced after the Commission’s meeting on Monday,” the statement reads.

“INEC invites the security agencies to investigate the incidents, while the Commission commits to thoroughly interrogating any breaches involving its officials.”

Back to top button