Jega, Olanipekun, Yuguda make list of council members for 111 Nigerian tertiary schools

Kunle Sanni

The federal government has released the list of governing councils for 111 federal universities, polytechnics, and colleges of education.

A statement signed by Didi Walson-Jack, the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Education, and released on Friday includes the names of 60 universities, 37 polytechnics, and 24 institutions of education.

The list includes prominent individuals such as the former Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Attahiru Jega, and two prominent Nigerian lawyers and Senior Advocates of Nigeria, Wole Olanipekun.

This announcement comes less than 72 hours after the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) demanded the immediate reinstatement of suspended governing councils of universities and the composition of others.

Others include Yusuf Alli; former Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission (NUC), Peter Okebukola, and labour activist, Issa Aremu, are among the individuals appointed to lead the councils of various academic institutions.

According to the statement, Jega will serve as the Chairman of the Governing Council of the Usmanu Danfodio University, Sokoto (UDUS), Messrs Olanipeku, Alli, Okubukola and Aremu will chair the councils for the University of Lagos (UNILAG), Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB), University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT), Rivers State, and Federal College of Education (Technical), Keana, Nasarawa State, respectively.

And a former Governor of Bauchi State, Isa Yuguda, will chair the governing council of the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN); Joy Emordi, a former Senator, who will chair the council of Alvan Ikoku Federal University of Education, Owerri, Imo State, and a former Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Yayale Ahmed, who is appointed to lead the council of Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria, Kaduna State.

Back to top button