Kwara lawmakers unveil four ex-commissioners, 14 others

By Mosunmola Ayobami, Ilorin 

Four former cabinet members and 14 others have been unveiled as commissioner-nominees by the Kwara State House of Assembly as submitted by Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq.

Reading the message to his colleagues at the plenary on Monday, the Speaker,, Yakubu, Rt. Hon. Danladi-Salihu said that Governor AbdulRazaq complied with section 14, subsection 4 and Section 192, Subsection 125 of the constitution. 

The ex-commissioners who made the list were Saadat Modibbo-Kawu (Ilorin South), Senior Suleiman (Ilorin West), Olaitan Buraimo (Oyun) and Aliyu Sabi (Baruten).

The new commissioner-nominees include Abdulganiyu Abdulazeez (Asa), Sheu Ndanusa (Edu), Afolasade Kemi (Ekiti), Dr Segun Ogunsola (Ifelodun), Abdulqowiy Olododo (Ilorin East), Hauwa Nuru (Ilorin West), Damilola Yusuf (Isin),  Oloruntosin Thomas (Isin), and Bola Olukoju (Irepodun).

Others are Abubakar Abdullahi (Kaiama), John Bello (Moro), Dr Amina Al-Imam (Offa), Dr Mary Ayinde (Oke-Ero), and Usman Yinusa (Patigi). 

The Speaker directed all the nominees to submit 35 copies of their curriculum vitae to the office of the Clerk before the close of work on Tuesday, Augudy 15 for the screening to commence on August 16.

The House also approved the governor’s request for the appointment of 10 Special Advisers following a letter received and read also at plenary on Monday. 

Governor AbdulRazaq, while noting that the action is in accordance with section 196 Subsection 1 of the Constitution said that the appointment of loyal and committed individuals with right experience and acumen to serve will facilitate smooth and hitch free governance.

The governor said this was desirable for distribution of dividends of democracy to the nooks and crannies of Kwara

Back to top button