Obasa, Orekoya win Agege constituencies

Sharing is caring!

Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Mudasiru Obasa and Abiodun Orekoya of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have been declared winners of the Agege constituency 1 and Somolu constituency 1 seats.

The APC candidates won their constituencies by wide margins in a result declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The results were announced by INEC returning officers on Sunday after several hours of collation carried out separately in the constituency.

In Agege, the Returning officer, INEC, Lookman Adedeji, declared Obasa winner after polling 17,214 votes which were over 13,000 higher than his closest contestant, the Labour Party candidate, Raheem Alani who recorded 3,933 votes.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) came third with 1,609 votes, following its inability to present an authentic candidate for the seat.

In Shomolu constituency 01, the Returning Officer, Dr Waziri Adisa, who declared the result at about 4.50 a.m. on Sunday, said that Orekoya secured 14,256 votes to beat his closest opponent, Adelana Adesegun-Adewale of the Labour Party, who got 4, 865 votes.

According to him, nine political parties contested for the constituency seat.

The Returning Officer added that Shittu Adedola-Olukorede of PDP scored 1,078, Awofodu Oluwabor-Oluwaseye of AA, 62 votes, Ayodele Gbenga-Johnson of AAC, 4 votes, and Olaleye Ezekiel-Oyefemi of ADC, 70 votes.

Others are Adeniyi Kolade of ADP, 37 votes, Ezitonye Peace Uzoma of BP, 21 votes, Gabriel Temitope-Dosunmu of NNPP, 24 votes and Awodeji Abdul of SDP, 1 vote.

“Abiodun Orekoya of APC, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and returned elected,” Adisa said.

Samuel Apata had earlier being declared winner of Somolu constituency 2 with 21,220.

Related Articles

Back to top button