Obidient Movement inaugurates harmonization committee to foster national unity

By Innocent Raphael

Ahead of the 2027 presidential elections, supporters of former Anambra governor Peter Obi, known as the Obidient Movement, have established a harmonization committee aimed at promoting peace, unity, and reconciliation across Nigeria.

The committee was inaugurated over the weekend in Abuja, the nation’s capital, and includes representatives from all six geopolitical zones of the country to ensure a comprehensive national impact.

Chaired by Comrade Joseph Enan Maigari, the committee features members from diverse backgrounds, bringing varied perspectives and experiences to its mission.

Maigari highlighted the committee’s critical role, describing Nigeria as a “wounded nation” due to the failures of past and present leadership.

“We are a wounded people because of the failure of past and present leadership, no matter on which side we stood. We all stand in need of healing.

“We on the team are no superhuman exceptions. We too need forgiving and to forgive ourselves to be able to wrestle the oppressors holding this country captive since 1960,” he said.

Maigari emphasized the importance of forgiveness and healing, noting that the committee’s work is not just for its members but for all Nigerians.

He called on citizens from all walks of life to support the committee’s mission, stressing that the nation’s future depends on their collective efforts.

“We will be engaging in what should be a corporate nationwide process of healing through contrition and forgiveness,” Maigari added. “To be able to forgive, one needs to know whom one is forgiving and why. That is why the truth is so central to this whole exercise. But we will be engaging in something that is ultimately deeply spiritual, deeply personal.”

The chairman urged Nigerians to unite across religious and regional lines, emphasizing that the committee’s work aims to heal past wounds and pave the way for a brighter future.

“Freedom and justice must become realities for all our people, and we have the privilege of helping to heal the hurts of the past, to transcend the alienations and the hostilities of that past,” he said.

The committee’s members include: North East: Joseph Enan Maigari, Hon. Dr. Yawe Jinadu, Comrade Zanna Ali Haruna, Dr. Kambu Papka.

North West: Khalifa Sharif Anta, Alhaji Usman Graham, Abubakar Yawale, Mrs. Deborah Bwala-Maina.

North Central: Sheikh Rufai Al-siddiq (PRO), DIG Lawal Gambo (Rtd.), Iortyom Kenneth Terhemba, Caleb Audu (Assistant Secretary).

South South: Chief Ephraim Etete-Owoh, Comrade Gometi Crested, Dr. Chinelo Onwusi (Secretary).

South East: Mmaduabuchi Chekwubechukwu (Mobilization), Dr. Chibuzor Obiesili, Engr. John Iwuchukwu.

South West: Adeyeye Tosin (Head ICT), Odusote Emmanuel, Kolade Gbolagade, Hon. Prince Austin Yonwunren.

The committee’s work, according to Maigari, will have “critical and far-reaching consequences” for Nigeria, with the goal of fostering national unity and healing divisions as the country looks towards a hopeful future.

Back to top button