Osimhen, Oshoala bag 2023 Ballon d’Or nominations

Super Eagles striker Victor Osimhen and Super Falcons forward Asisat Oshoala have both been nominated for the 2023 Ballon d’Or award.

The nominees for the award was revealed yesterday, making it the first time two Nigerians will make the cut.

Osimhen had a remarking 2022/23 season winning the Italian Serie A for Napoli – there first in 30 years.

The Nigeria striker also emerged the league’s highest highest goal scorer, surpassing Liberia’s legend George Weah as the highest scoring African in Italy on his way to clinching the award.

The other nominees for the 2023 Ballon d’Or include Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe, Robert Lewandowski, Erling Halland, Mohamed Salah, and Bukayo Saka among others,

Oshoala has also been in an impressive form for Barcelona Femeni helping them to a historic treble last season with the climax being the UEFA Women’s Champions League.

The 28-year-old scored 21 goals in 28 appearances for Barcelona last season.

She also had a fantastic year with the the Super Falcons, becoming the first African to score in three World Cups at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

The Women’s World Cup winner Aitana Bonmati, the competition’s Golden Boot winner Hinata Miyazawa, and Colombian teenager Linda Caicedo all made the nomination list with Oshoala.

Full list of men’s Ballon d’Or nominees:
André Onana – Manchester United/Cameroon

Josko Gvardiol – Manchester City/Croatia

Karim Benzema – Al Ittihad

Jamal Musiala – Bayern Munich/Germany

Mohamed Salah – Liverpool/Egypt

Jude Bellingham – Real Madrid/England

Bukayo Saka – Arsenal/England

Dangote adbanner 728x90_2 (1)
Randal Kolo Muani – Paris Saint-Germain/France

Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City/Belgium

Bernardo Silva – Manchester City/Portugal

Emiliano Martínez – Aston Villa/Argentina

Khvicha Kvaratskhelia – Napoli/Georgia

Rúben Dias – Manchester City/Portugal

Nicolo Barella – Inter Milan/Italy

Erling Haaland – Manchester City/Norway

Yassine Bounou – Al Hilal/Morocco

Martin Ødegaard – Arsenal/Norway

Julián Álvarez – Manchester City/Argentina

Ilkay Gündogan – Barcelona/Germany

Vinícius Júnior – Real Madrid/Brazil

Lionel Messi – Inter Miami/Argentina

Rodri – Manchester City/Spain

Lautaro Martínez – Inter Milan/Argentina

Antoine Griezmann – Atletico Madrid/France

Robert Lewandowski – Barcelona/Poland

Kylian Mbappé – Paris Saint-Germain/France

Kim Min-jae – Napoli/South Korea

Victor Osimhen – Napoli/Nigeria

Luka Modric – Real Madrid/Croatia

Harry Kane – Bayern Munich/England

Back to top button