Oyo Assembly renames Technical University after late governor

By Innocent Raphael

The Oyo State House of Assembly has officially passed a bill renaming The First Technical University in Ibadan to Abiola Ajimobi Technical University.

The bill was passed into law during a plenary session on Wednesday, following the presentation of a report by the Committee on Tertiary Institutions, chaired by Hon. Oluwafemi Fowokanmi.

The report was meticulously reviewed clause by clause by the lawmakers in a session led by Speaker Hon. Adebo Ogundoyin. After successfully passing the third reading, the bill was enacted.

Highlighting the significance of this legislative action, Hon. Fowokanmi emphasized that the new law will enable the university to receive benefits similar to those enjoyed by other state-owned institutions.

He noted that the university’s funding currently relies on local government scholarships and its internally generated revenue.

With the institution now officially recognized as Abiola Ajimobi Technical University, it is expected to gain access to state subventions, aligning it with other tertiary institutions in the state.

This change will also allow the university to enroll students through the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board (JAMB) and potentially reduce tuition fees, making higher education more accessible to local students.

Governor Seyi Makinde had previously requested the House to repeal the original law establishing the university and approve the renaming.

In his letter to the House, Governor Makinde stated that the name change would ensure that the university’s governance structures align with those of other state-owned institutions.

The First Technical University was established in 2017 by the late Governor Abiola Ajimobi, whose name the institution now honors.

Back to top button