PDP’s Umo Eno wins A’Ibom governorship election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Mr Umo Eno of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the winner of the governorship election in Akwa Ibom State.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Emmanuel Adigio, Vice Chancellor, Nigerian Maritime University, Delta State, announced the results on Sunday in Uyo.

Adigio said Eno won in 29 out of 31 local government areas of the state to defeat Senator Bassey Akpan of the Young Progressive Party (YPP).

He said that the PDP candidate scored 354,348 votes, beating his closet YPP rival, who got 136,262 votes.

He said that the All Progressives Congress (APC) scored 129,602 votes while the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) got 12,509 votes. Labour Party (LP) scored 4,746 votes.

Back to top button