Petroleum Minister demands investment in pipelines for gas distribution

Minister of State Petroleum Resources (Gas), Rt. Hon. Ekperikpe Ekpo has called for investment in the pipeline construction to distribute gas to end users.

The Minister made the call when he visited the scene of the gas explosion at Ita Oshin in Abeokuta, Ogun State, where a truck conveying CNG experienced a brake failure and crashed into the road barricade resulting in loss of lives and destruction of properties.

A statement by the Minister’s spokesman, Louis Ibah said Rt. Hon. Ekpo was received by Ogun State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun.

Governor Abiodun thanked the Minister, stressing the importance of a thorough investigation to unravel the root cause of the accident and implementation of recommendations to forestall future re-occurrence.

Deputy Governor of the State, Mrs. Noimot Salako-Oyedele, and other government officials conducted Ekpo and his team on a tour of the accident site. 

The Minister commiserated with families affected by the tragedy and Gasco Marine Ltd, owners of the gas truck. He also commended the swift response of fire service personnel, and first responders in the aftermath of the gas explosion even as he reiterated his commitment to growing the gas space.

Ekpo said going forward, rather than trucking to end users, the regulators will emphasize the issuance of distribution licences that will ensure that licensed distributors invest in the installation of pipelines to deliver gas directly to end users. 

He said the shift from trucking to pipeline transportation will not only enhance safety but, also improve efficiency and reliability in delivering gas to consumers.

“As the Honourable Minister of State Petroleum Resources (Gas), I am committed to growing the gas space, but I can assure you that every effort is being made to prevent such accidents as this from occurring in the future,” he said.

On the Minister’s entourage were the Authority Chief Executive (ACE) of NMDPRA, Farouk Ahmed, members of the Minister’s technical team and officials of the NMDPRA.

Back to top button