Senate President, Lawan re-elected in Yobe North

President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, has won the Senatorial election for Yobe North, which comprises Bade, Jakusko, Karasuwa, Nguru, Yusufari, and Machina Local Government Areas.

Lawan polled 91,318 votes, representing 74.7 percent of the total valid votes of 122,193, to defeat his closest rival, Bello Ilu of PDP who polled 22,849 votes.

The Returning Officer for the election, Professor Omolola Aduoju of the Federal University Gashua, Yobe State, announced the result at Umar Suleiman College of Education Gashua on Sunday night.

Special Adviser (Media) to the Senate President, Ola Awoniyi said: “This is the seventh parliamentary election won consecutively by Lawan into the National Assembly since 1999, the first two of which gave him ticket to the House of Representatives while the last five gave him ticket to the Senate.”

Back to top button